“Confessions of a Spa Bunny” – Confessions from Costa Rica: Terra Spa at Gaia Hotel & Reserve

During my visit to Costa Rica, I was able to discover the gem that is Terra Spa, located in the lush Gaia Hotel & Reserve complex in Manuel Antonio.  Nestled on top of a rainforest lined path, the only way to the top was via a golf cart ride provided once you arrive at the reserve.    The scenic ride was just a teasing preview of what was in store at the spa!

Check out my “confessions” video for a sneak peek inside Terra Spa:

Ensuring I indulged as much as possible on my last full day in paradise, my day of treatments consisted of a:
  • Costa Rican Ginger & Honey Scrub with Vichy Shower -hand crafted with fresh ginger, honey, and cane sugar, a truly invigorating and refreshing mix provided a light exfoliation, hydration, and anti-inflammatory effects.  Combined with the warm pulsating pressure-point massage of the 5 head vichy rain shower, I felt renewed and relaxed.  
  • Hair Hydrating Mask – a mixture of rosemary, lavender, cedar, and ylang ylang, my therapist, Milton, applied the mask during my vichy treatment.  I was surprisingly impressed with the care and patience that was exhibited as my hair was gently washed, marinated, and detangled, in addition to a scrumptious scalp massage.
  • Rainforest Hot Stone Therapy – Costa Rican river stones and essential oils relieved the remaining remnants of my week of zip lining and hiking adventures in the rainforest.
  • Arco Iris Facial- an organic experience with a cleansing coffee/vanilla scrub, volcanic clay mask, and aroma soothing facial massage.  I emerged with a glow as radiant as a Costa Rican sunrise highlighting the ocean.
I wrapped up my visit to Gaia with lunch and panoramic views of the Pacific ocean and surrounding rainforest at the reserve’s La Luna Restaurant. I was whisked away the same way I arrived, and started feeling sad as the beauty of the rainforest, the spa, and everything I was leaving behind got further and further from my reach as I sat on the back of the golf cart and prepared for my return home the next day.

 

 Confessionslogo2
India K. Robinson, Creator & Founder
Twitter/Periscope/Instagram: @confessspabunny
Leave a Reply

