My Funny Valentine: Kicking Cupid to the Curb

Don’t get too excited.  This is NOT a love story.  But it is a story about love.

So it’s February the 14th… “Valentine’s Day”.  Somehow it has become a holiday of sorts, lumped into the likes of Christmas, Easter, Mother’s Day, and Halloween.   A day of love they say, yet every year it rolls around, there are so many people out there who are not feeling very loved at all.   I know, I used to be one of them.  I despised Valentine’s Day.  I’d imagine myself taking one of cupid’s arrows and shooting him right in his cubby little…. well.. let’s not go there.  Each year was different, but pretty much the same.  Whether staying hopeful and still being gravely disappointed by the end of the day, or starting the day with a grudge on your shoulders and a frown on your face, so that nobody dare not wish you a Happy Valentine’s Day, to pretending the very day did not even exists.   Yup, I’ve done them all, but each year V-Day came back and I had to face Cupid and all his antics yet again.

I can’t say where this story takes a turn.  I can’t even say at which point in my life I had a change of heart. But somewhere along my journey while embracing my own spirituality I realized something profound.  I found that LOVE was all around me, and that I was LOVE, and that if you live a life of LOVE, you don’t need one day to show it or prove it or even celebrate it.  I didn’t find love in another person, or a materialistic item.  I found it inside of me!  It was warm and radiant and when I let it work its magic, I could see how it affected everything around me. I didn’t need Cupid, I was Cupid in my own divine way!

16174_10203704221314780_45553709814580165_n

I know what some of you may be thinking… a bunch of warm and fuzzy mumbo jumbo.  And who knows, you may be right, but when I woke up this morning it saddened me to see so many people being consumed by this day.  I felt a need to write this story tonight, a sudden dose of inspiration as I sit alone on this cold, snowy and windy Valentine’s night.  I wanted to deliver a message.  A message to the single folks waiting, searching, or just about given up on love.  A message to those who feel lonely, unappreciated, or overlooked this time every year.  And a message to the “lucky” ones who get adorned and are adored with love and admiration on this day.

My message is this:   Don’t let one day define your relevance in this world.  Celebrate YOU everyday even if nobody else does.  You are worthy in more ways than you could ever imagine, and the behavior or actions of others does not reflect your self-worth.  If nothing else, since we are creatures of habit and ritual, use this day for self-reflection, self-love, and self-care.  Don’t jump on the pity train to nowhere, when you can ride first-class to somewhere.

There are happy endings out there, but it’s up to you to make them happen. As for me, I’m still writing and creating my story, filling the pages with love, adventure, and happiness along the way.  Join me, it’s going to be one hell of a ride!

Leave a Reply

